MNJ history    




The Hartford Jazz Society

Monday Night Jazz - 2013
A series of FREE concerts in Bushnell Park, Hartford - Rain Venue
Broadcast live by WWUH Radio

Parking for disabled persons is available behind the Pavilion. Since the number of spaces is limited, only cars with either a disability parking permit or a license plate displaying the International Symbol of Access will be admitted.

July 8
6 pm

RAHSTET - a sextet led by saxophonist Richard McGhee III with vocalist Margaux Hayes

7:30 pm
MARIO PAVONE / ORANGE DOUBLE TENOR SEPTET with Jimmy Greene, tenor and soprano saxophones;
Noah Preminger, tenor saxophone; Dave Ballou, trumpet , flugelhorn, cornet; Peter Mceachern, trombone; Peter Madsen, piano; Steve Johns, drums; Mario Pavone, bass / compositions

July 15
6 pm

NITA ZARIF QUINTET - Nita Zarif, vocals; Saskia Laroo, trumpet; Warren Byrd, piano; Doug Long, bass; Alvin Carter Jr., drums

7:30 pm
STANLEY COWELL QUARTET- Stanley Cowell, piano; Vic Juris, guitar; Tom DiCarlo, bass; Victor Lewis, drums

July 22
6 pm

NORMAN GAGE-KENNY REED QUINTET – Norman Gage, baritone saxophone; Kenny Reed, trumpet; Warren Byrd, piano; Jay Williams, drums; Alex Tremblay, bass

7:30 pm
JAY HOGGARD QUINTET - Jay Hoggard, vibraphone; Yoron Israel, drums; Belden Bullock, bass; James Weidman, piano; sax/tba

July 29
6 pm
TROPIIJAZZ - Nelson Bello, congas/percussion; James "Mondongo" Messbauer and Hommy Ramos Vizcarrondo, trombones; David Gonzalez, piano; Matt Dwonszyk, bass; Enrique Chavez, timbales/percussion

7:30 pm
THE NEW CUBAN EXPRESS - leader Manuel Valera, piano; Joel Frahm, tenor sax; Tom Guarna, guitar; John Benitez, bass; Ludwig Afonso, drums; Mauricio Herrera, congas, percussion

August 5
6 pm
ORICE JENKINS SEPTET - Orice Jenkins, piano; Shenel Johns and Erica Bryan, vocals; Alden Hellmuth, alto sax; Nathan Davis, trombone; Tom Sullivan, bass; Eric Hallenbeck, drums

7:30 pm
WILL CALHOUN TRIO - Will Calhoun, drums; Charnett Moffett, bass; and Marc Cary, piano/keyboards

August 12
6 pm
SHENEL JOHNS QUINTET – Shenel Johns, vocals

7:30 pm
BRANDEE YOUNGER QUINTET – Brandee Younger, harp; Dezron Douglas, bass